Skip to content
October 12, 2011 / hpclevelandstater

How do you tell time?

Other than pen and paper, my most-used item while on campus is my watch.

It’s essential for me. It’s how I stay on time. I don’t notice how often I look at it. But I’ve only forgotten it a couple times, and I felt lost.
While working on a story for the Cleveland Stater about the clock tower above the Main Classroom elevators being fixed, I found out I’m apparently one of few who tell time via something other than a cell phone.

I asked 10 people on the plaza that the clock overlooks for their thoughts about it being wrong and what CSU should do about it.
None of the people I asked knew it was wrong. Several didn’t even notice the clock until I pointed it out.

The universal reason was that they all tell time by looking at their cell phones.
This baffles me. I’ll give you two options for telling time:

1. Digging your phone out of your pocket and/or bag and hitting a button to activate it.

2. Looking at your wrist.

The second option sounds a lot easier to me. But I think this illustrates a generation gap.

I didn’t grow up with a cell phone. Using one has only been a part of my life for the past five-plus years.

I don’t live my life through it, and I like it that way.

If you’re someone who does rely heavily on a cell phone, you probably didn’t make it this far in the blog because your attention span lasts as long as it takes to check your email/text messages/twitter feed.

My apologies if that’s blunt and stereotypical. But it’s probably true, so that means you didn’t see it.

If you have made it this far, I wouldn’t be surprised if you’re wearing a watch. It’s a great way to tell time.

Leave a Reply

